Review: Rise

rise-cover

block2

 “We called you ‘Rise’ for the first three years of your life because there was not a single challenge that you didn’t rise to. You could do anything. You weren’t afraid of anything. ” ~Ms. Dennis

Dylan Allen’s novel Rise was such a lovely surprise!! I had no idea what to expect when I started reading this magnificent body of work, but let the record show that I was stunned speechless by this extraordinary tale of strength and self-discovery, especially since this AMAZING book is the author’s debut novel!!

The writing is so rich and several of the themes are so profound and meaningful that  it gave me pause as I contemplated the scope of the author’s message.  This novel explores the subjects of racism, sexism, familial treachery and the dynamics behind the relationships between mothers and daughters.  There is so much deep-seated content that I do not even know where to begin!

Rise is the tale of Addie Dennis, a young woman who suffers a terrible betrayal in her childhood yet puts her best foot forward to overcome it.  After years of hard work and dedication, she becomes an accomplished lawyer and obtains a position at one of the most prestigious firms in London.   While on an outing with her family she meets Simon, an up and coming architect who immediately captures her eye.

Their connection is immediate, magnetic and electric from the first moment that they lay eyes on each other.

“When our eyes meet, something in his expression makes me feel like I just stepped off a ledge.  Right now, I understand the expression ‘lost in your eyes.’ ” ~Addie

One of the greatest triumphs of this novel is the way that the author is able to convey the heroine’s fear and vulnerability as she opens herself up to love after experiencing the type of disloyalty and deception that no child should ever have to endure.  I FELT her pain, and I experienced her need for self preservation. She constructs an iron casing around her heart and silently dares anyone to try to breach it.

“This is dangerous. Lingering means feelings, and feelings mean pain when they walk away from you or betray you.” ~Addie

“Last night I was willing to give Simon a chance…that is something I should never consider doing again. Dreams aren’t made of fairy tales and romance, they are made of hard work and grit.” ~Addie

“There is something behind her eyes.  Something I saw clearly tonight–sadness. It is almost bleak, and I recognize it because I’ve felt it before myself. Someone has disappointed her terribly.  She is smart and she is sexy. But she is also wary and hurt.” ~Simon

It was a true joy to witness Simon melt that iron casing one step at a time as he teaches Addie how to embrace the possibilities that are right under her nose and shun the pessimism that has permeated her thoughts on life, family and love for so long.

Simon and Addie light up the night with the intensity of a wildfire that can not be tamed, in and out of the bedroom. “Those” scenes made me want to FALL OUT.  Simon is NO JOKE. That is all I am going to say about that. 😉

There are so many facets to this story that I can not even begin to address since this is a spoiler free review, but this couple’s union is magical and awe-inspiring.  Their love survives so much mental, emotional and physical hardship that I was left INSPIRED.

Lines like this one warmed my heart and made me nearly swoon:

“In a city where dreams are made, mine is sitting across from me, and I know wherever she goes I will follow.” ~Simon

LAWD!!!  Not only is Simon incredibly HAWT and infinitely “skilled,” but he is also sweet, protective and dominant.  He is a provider, he is a family man and most importantly, he is a romantic and loving beyond belief. Once this man gives his heart he is ALL IN, and I LOVED that!!!!!

All I have to say is….

Dear Santa,

Please leave me my very own Simon under the Christmas tree this year.  I promise to be a very good girl all year long!!! I beg you to disregard my name. It means nothing, I promise!

Love,

Naughty Girl

😂😂

On a more serious note, Rise is one of the most poignant and powerful novels that I have read in 2017.  This is my first experience with this author but I am madly in love with her already.  I can not wait to read her next release, and I hope that it comes soon!!!!

Should you read Rise?

I hope that you DO read this glorious, thoughtful, clever and moving tale of  perseverance, forgiveness and the liberating power of love!!!

So what are you waiting for? One-click this baby!!

And that my friends, is this Naughty Girl’s final word.

Overall: 5/5 stars that RISE to the heavens!

Heat:  You’re going to LOVE Simon and his magical skills even more than Addie does! 😍😍🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

block6

As a little girl, I saw my father destroy the family he claimed to love. I watched my mother waste her life dreaming of a man who left her without a second glance.

As a woman, I don’t dream, I work. I don’t fall in love, I focus. I would never let anything as frivolous as love distract me.

Until I meet Simon. A gorgeous, brilliant young architect with dark eyes, a sweet smile, and a dirty, dirty mouth. He sets me on fire, and suddenly all I can do is dream…of his hands, his lips, his body. Of a heart good enough and a love strong enough to make me believe in happily ever after.

But Simon has secrets that are even deeper than mine. Will our pasts destroy everything we’ve worked for? Or will we find the courage to rise to the challenge and fight for the love we share?

Goodreads:

http://bit.ly/2ji1zY3

rise3

block5

Amazon US ~ http://amzn.to/2kQzf2D

Amazon UK ~ http://amzn.to/2kQA4Zi

Amazon CA ~ http://amzn.to/2lI8DCC

Amazon AU ~ http://amzn.to/2lNBrWy

giveawayblock

Giveaway!!!!!!

There is a Kindle Fire 7″ Tablet with Wi-Fi, 8 GB  & $30 Sew Chic Gift Certificate up for grabs!

Enter here:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0cba4250444/?

rise2

block3

Dylan Allen is a Texas girl with a serious case of wanderlust. A self-proclaimed happily ever junkie, she loves creating stories where her characters chase their own happy endings. When she isn’t writing or reading, eating or cooking, she and her family are planning their next adventure.

Connect with Dylan Allen:

Newsletter Sign Up: http://bit.ly/2keVjl8

Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2kp67Ri

Facebook Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2jWq80y

Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2kpUQMy

Instagram: http://bit.ly/2jOvrNn

sassysavvy

Leave a Reply

