Review: Defy

Title: Defy

Series: Sinners of Saints #0.5

Author: L.J Shen

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published: February 3, 2017


block2

“My love was madness. And I was ready to fight for it.” ~Melody

 L.J. Shen’s Defy is a deliciously sinful, incredibly sensual forbidden romance that made me even further obsessed with this author’s Sinners of Saint Series!

Defy is the story of Melody Greene, a high school teacher who becomes romantically involved with her very legal senior high school student Jaime Followhill a few weeks before his graduation. What is absolutely incredible about this novella is that the author takes a subject matter that some would find absolutely unacceptable and makes the reader burn for it, yearn for it and crave so much more of these characters and their love story!

Jaime and Melody’s story is the prequel to Vicious, book one in the series.  I adored the fact that the author cleverly incorporated some of the plot points of Vicious into Defy; the extra addition of a different point of view to some of the elements of the events in book one tremendously enhanced my appreciation for Vicious…and that is hard to do, because Vicious was one of my 5-star January reads!

What I enjoyed most about Defy was how brilliantly the author was able to translate Melody’s conflict about her blossoming feelings for Jaime through the written words of the pages.

“I was a flower and he was a rare sun ray, and we were drawn to each other, reluctantly, unwittingly, disastrously.  Every cell in my body sizzled, begging for his touch.” ~Melody

“…This time, it couldn’t’ save me from falling deeper into whatever the hell that we were creating. Actually, I knew what it was.  Magic. ~Melody

“Logically, I knew this wasn’t ok. But if it was so wrong…why did it feel so right?” ~Melody

 This couple smolders with a level of heat that I am still shaking my head over!! The fire between them is explosive, volcanic and damn near had flames popping out of my ears!!!  The chemistry is so brilliant and vivid that I found myself rooting for this couple and rooting for them HARD!!!  More importantly, it was a joy to dive into Jaime and Melody’s journey as they faced enemies, jumped hurdles, overcame obstacles and made sacrifices for their love!

Trust me when I say that you WANT this book!  Defy is hot sex at its best! It is a steamy, emotionally gratifying romance that will make you wonder what took you so long to read L.J. Shen’s mouthwatering new release in the first place!!!

You NEED this fabulously taboo tale in your life! Right now I am about to lose my mind waiting for news on the next installment in the series!

Defy will make your heart drop and your panties weep! I am hooked and beyond passionate about the incredible novels in the Sinners of Saints series!  And I am willing to bet that you will be too!

So read this series!!

That is this Naughty Girl’s final word.

 

Overall: 5 hopelessly addictive stars!

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥/5 flames! #prepareyoself

 

block6

My name is Melody Greene, and I have a confession to make.

I slept with my student, a senior in high school.

Multiple times.

I had multiple orgasms.

In multiple positions.

I slept with my student and I enjoyed it.

I slept with my student and I’d do it all over again if I could turn back time.

My name is Melody Greene, and I got kicked out of my position as a teacher and did my walk of shame a la Cersei Lannister from the principal’s office, minutes after said principal threatened to call the cops on me.

My name is Melody Greene, and I did something bad because it made me feel good.

Here is why it was totally worth it.

Defy is a smutty, insta-love, insta-lust short novella. Defy is a prequel to Vicious (Sinners of Saint #1). It is recommended, but unnecessary, to read Defy before reading Vicious.


“It was sexy and steamy and everything I’ve come to expect from this author.” – Ariana, Steamy Reads Blog.

“Holy Heck this was Hot!! If I wasn’t hooked on this series before I sure am now!! These boys just get dirtier, hotter, off the rails panty wetting hot!!” – Kitty Katz Crazy About Books.

Forbidden romance has never been so well done! And this is a novella!” – Stephanie, Tied Up In Romance.

Enter to Win one of 10 e-book copies of Defy!!!!

block1
block3

L.J. Shen resides in sunny California with her husband, son, chubby cat and wild, wild dreams.

Her passion is to write badass stories, sushi, UFC and her awesome family and friends (not in this order, though. Obviously, sushi comes before writing. Oh, and also the family part.)

She spend the first half of her twenties traveling the world and is now paying all the fun with extra shifts in front of her MacBook. Feel free to contact her on her Facebook page. She loves to hear from her readers.


 

HOSTED BY:

Leave a Reply

