Review: Anything You Can Do

Title: Anything You Can Do
Author: R.S. Grey
Release Date: Feb 2, 2017
Add to TBR

block2

“I firmly believe that anything he can do, I can do better.” ~ Daisy

R.S. Grey’s Anything You Can Do is one of the hottest romantic comedies that I have read in a very long time!! From the onset of this book the tug of war that ensues between the hero and the heroine burns with the intensity of a wildfire that can NOT be tamed!!!!

This enemies to lovers romance is SO smart, sassy, hilarious and ohhhhh so sexy that it is downright unforgettable, incredibly delightful and just plain heavenly!!!!

In short, Anything You Can Do is EVERYTHING that a romantic comedy should be!

Lucas Thatcher, a*k*a “Lucas the Mucus” has literally been engaged in a childish war with his neighbor Daisy Bell since infancy.  They battle with each other throughout the duration of their childhoods like their lives depend on it! Watching them banter back and forth was thoroughly entertaining and flat out sidesplitting!

To illustrate, I would like to review a tiny morsel of a typical childhood interaction between Lucas and Daisy:

Daisy: “If you ever tattle on me again, I’ll make it two black eyes,” I hissed…

Lucas: “I hope that you get hit by the school bus,” he whispered back.

When I read that exchange I howled laughing to the point where my behind hit the floor, literally.  I.am.NOT. joking!!!!!! This book is just that good!!!

Fifteen years later Lucas and Daisy have both graduated college, attended medical school and become highly skilled physicians who move back to their hometown hoping to acquire ownership of a thriving medical practice that the current owner will be forced to relinquish once he retires.

The spirit of rivalry is reborn and thus ensues an incredibly lively, thoroughly amusing set of circumstances that had me snickering, cringing, rolling my eyes and cursing both of these characters for refusing to recognize the true motivation behind their hostile behavior towards each other in the first place!!

Their determination to compete in every way, shape and form  highlights a chemistry that is so profound, so prolific and so intense that you cannot help but wonder why they will not just give it up and fall into bed together already!!!!

These two share a strong, passionate attraction but they fight it like they will win a multi-million dollar lottery prize for doing so. Lucas and Daisy personify the meaning of the phrase “love is a battlefield” and it is so enjoyable to watch their walls crumble as they are slowly forced to acknowledge the truth behind their immature, hateful actions over the years.

For me, the most remarkable aspect of this novel is R.S. Grey’s clever writing.  The way that she incorporates aspects of popular culture with spot-on, light-hearted comedy tremendously endeared this wonderful novel to me. I just want to toss this one out there:

“He knows nothing.  He is Jon Snow.” ~Daisy

SO brilliant!!!! And that is only a small taste of how ingenious and creative R.S. Grey is when it comes to this wonderfully crafted, absolutely fulfilling romance novel!

Anything You Can Do is so memorable that it will take up a permanent place in your heart! You will roar with laughter, you will cringe as they prank each other and your heart will pound when they finally hit the sheets! And when the small dose of angst hits hard, swift and deep….well, you will see! 😉

All I can say is this:  Take a huge splash of humor, toss in a combination of picture-perfect, thought-provoking writing and add a hearty dash of smoking-hot sexual tension and you’ve got the textbook recipe for a romantic comedy that will leave you spellbound and eager for more!!!!!

I promise you that if you overlook Anything You Can Do, you will thoroughly regret missing out on what I am sure will be one of the best romantic comedies of the year!!

So READ THIS BOOK!!!

That is this Naughty Girl’s final word!

Overall: 5/5 stars!!!  Few romantic comedies can do it better!

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥  /5 scalding, deliciously hot flames!!!!!

block6

Lucas Thatcher has always been my enemy.

It’s been a decade since I’ve seen him, but our years on opposite coasts were less of a lasting peace and more of a temporary cease-fire. Now that we’re both back in our small town, I know Lucas expects the same old war, but I’ve changed since high school—and from the looks of it, so has he.

The arrogant boy who was my teenage rival is now a chiseled doctor armed with intimidating good looks. He is Lucas Thatcher 2.0, the new and improved version I’ll be competing with in the workplace instead of the schoolyard.

I’m not worried; I’m a doctor now too, board-certified and sexy in a white coat. It almost feels like winning will be too easy—until Lucas unveils a tactic neither of us has ever used before: sexual warfare.

The day he pushes me up against the wall and presses his lips to mine, I can’t help but wonder if he’s filling me with passion or poison. Every fleeting touch is perfect torture. With every stolen kiss, my walls crumble a little more. After all this time, Lucas knows exactly how to strip me of my defenses, but I’m in no hurry to surrender.

Knowing thy enemy has never felt so good.

 
block3

I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things… everyday.

I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors are Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things “funny”. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.

  
Leave a Reply

