Review: A Touch of Lust

block2

“Just a touch of lust, that’s all it takes to prove to you that you belong to me.” ~Liam

The subject matter of Michelle Horst’s A Touch of Lust gripped me and hopelessly reeled me in from the moment that I initially read the blurb.  I admit to being intrigued and curious, although I was thoroughly apprehensive and quite hesitant to explore the ins and outs of a love that blossoms amidst the restrictive, downright terrifying aftermath surrounding what one has experienced during their former life in a cult.

The heroine, Mila Jameson endures years of abuse and brainwashing at the hands of “The Order” before she decides to flee from the cult that she has resided with since her youth. Her time with The Order haunts her; she is damaged physically and emotionally but she is determined to forge a new path for herself as she walks the road on her way to healing.

Years later, she enrolls in college and attempts to move on from her horrific past.  In spite of her efforts, she suffers tremendous mental and emotional effects from her time spent with The Order.  Enter Liam, another college student who has admired Mila from afar, physically seeing that she is young and beautiful but sensing that her heart is a mess from circumstances surrounding a history that is eerily similar to his own.

This is a spoiler free review, so I will leave it at that, BUT know that Mila and Liam have more in common than you think.

This book hit me in ways that I have never experienced before, and that is not an exaggeration.  Do not get me wrong; I thoroughly enjoyed this story about salvation and the triumph of good over evil when it seems that all hope is lost. Michelle Horst is an AMAZING storyteller with a tremendous ability to create an alternative universe that will suck you in and refuse to let you go. In my opinion, few writers out there are able to tackle such a heart-wrenching subject matter with the level of finesse and talent that Ms. Horst has exhibited in A Touch of Lust.

The angst surrounding Liam and Mila’s story kept me riveted.  I particularly enjoyed the journey that Mila experienced as she took a chance on love when she had been deprived of warmth and affection for so long.  There is also the sexual dynamic surrounding her relationship with Liam, because that man has a mouth on him for the ages!  I am shaking my head right now thinking about some of the things that he says in the heat of passion!

Have Mercy!!!

The bottom line is this: I savored A Touch of Lust like I would relish a glass of expensive wine.  This novel is a terrific tale about survival, bravery and having the courage to put one foot forward toward deliverance and grasping a lifeline instead of taking a step back and reverting into a state of fear, hurt and pain when the opportunity for physical and emotional liberation presents itself.

Michelle Horst has my highest regards, because she courageously tackled the subject matter with dignity and grace at the same time that she managed to breathe life into a sexy, swoon-worthy hero and trigger my utmost respect for a strong, awe-inspiring heroine!!

I DARE you to read this book.

It is raw, it is gritty and it is REAL.  This is book will make you wince, but there are also moments that will make you cheer out loud in the name of passion and love!!

In spite of the darkness of their pasts, there is a light to Liam and Mila’s journey as a couple that makes this book SHINE!!!!!

I adore A Touch of Lust because it showcases the strength of the human spirit and it also highlights our ability to heal and LOVE regardless of past circumstances.

So read it…if you dare.

That is this Naughty Girl’s final word.

Overall: 4.5/ stars!

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥/5 stars for Liam, his dirty talking mouth and the intense forest fire that will burn in your panties as a result of it!!!! 😂

 block6

MILA:

The way of the commune is the only way I know. Born into sin, I have to repent daily.

If we follow the laws of the Brothers, our sins will be forgiven, and they will take us with them to The Promised Land. All I have been taught is that I’m bad, shameful and a whore.

But, in the deepest part of my heart I can’t help but wonder about life. Is the way of The Order really the only way?

I listen to the teachings. I watch my sisters as they dutifully do what they’re told.

With every passing day I can feel my faith slipping away. How can I believe in something that feels so wrong? I feel like an outsider.

I feel like I don’t belong anywhere until I meet Liam. The first man to show me what love is turns out to be just like the rest of them.

I’m done putting my faith in men. I’ll save myself.

LIAM:

Cults – I have this intense hunger for revenge against them.

Because of them, my sister took her own life.

Instead of getting my revenge, I get Mila. She changes things. But when I begin to unravel the secrets of her past that revenge comes back. I can’t forgive her for belonging to a cult. I blame her.

There’s only one problem, somehow that love I felt for her is coming back and my hate is turning to lust.

In the end I’m the one who needs saving.

block5
$1.99 for a limited time only!!!
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
 
Free in Kindle Unlimited
block4

My first instinct is to cover myself, but the scorching look in his eyes makes me stand still.

My conscience screams at me that this is wrong, but it’s quickly silenced by the sinner in me.

“Don’t look at me like I’m your ticket to the promised land, babe. I’ll only lead you to hell.”

Heat spreads through my body and tiny tongues of desire lick at my skin.

“You make me want to be a bad girl,” I whisper. My voice is hoarse with sinful need.

I want to feel his touch. I want to be defiled by him.

block3

International bestselling author of Predator, The Monster Series and many others. She loves writing anything from Young Adult to Suspense Romance.

FACEBOOK

TWITTER 

GOODREADS

AMAZON

 

giveawayblock

♥♥♥There is a giveaway for a $25 Amazon Gift Card♥♥♥

 Direct Link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba3ffd551450

Leave a Reply

