Review: Saint

saint-ebook

SAINT by A. Zavarelli
Boston Underworld Series, Book #4

block2

“Some girls are made of sugar and spice and everything nice. Some are made of venom and sin. When you open the chambers to their hearts, you’ll find absolutely nothing within.” ~Scarlett

Genius.

Heart-breaking.

Intense.

Profound.

These are just a few words that describe Saint, Ashleigh Zavarelli’s latest addition to her Boston Underworld series of mafia romance.

Quite frankly I am sitting here with my eyes wide open as I contemplate the depth of the brilliance that I have just experienced, because this author is a mastermind.

No joke. Her writing is nothing short of prolific and that is putting it mildly.   I fell in love with Ms. Zavarelli’s immeasurable talent when I stumbled upon the first novel in the Boston Underworld series, Crow.  I died and went to heaven when I read Reaper and I fell even deeper down the rabbit hole when I devoured Ghost.

However, I simply was *not* ready for Saint.

This book ignited a hailstorm of emotions within me that I was not prepared to experience.

I laughed one minute and nearly swooned the next.  Those are the highlights, because at another point in this novel I dissolved into an ocean of tears that ran so deep that I just knew that I would melt into an inconsolable puddle of goo.

Saint is the story of Tenly Albright, AKA Scarlett.   This woman is a bad ass of epic proportions; she takes no prisoners in her pursuit of revenge and at several points in the novel she straight up scared me due to her savagery and brutality.  When the reason for her actions are revealed…good gracious, I have no words.

Scarlett is hardcore in a way that I have never experienced before.  This heroine is damaged, but she is by no means weak.  She is emotionally vulnerable, but she is also fierce.  She is violent and she is truly a force to be reckoned with in every sense of the word.

“For two long months, I was ******g up some random man every night.  Making him pay for the sins of everyone else before him.  It didn’t matter to me.  The only thing that mattered was the game.  The retribution.” ~Scarlett

“The time for war has come, and there’s no backing down now.  I’m trapped in this game.  And the only way out is by leaving a trail of blood in my wake. I’m going to kill them all.” ~Scarlett

Even so, you cannot help but love her.

Then there is Rory Brodrick, AKA The Saint, the sexy Irish mobster who falls hopelessly, madly and and deeply in love with the broken heroine who he kidnapped in a previous novel in the Boston Underworld series.

This man may shed blood for his brotherhood, but his love for Scarlett in spite of the heavy mental and emotional “baggage” that she carries unequivocally redeems him.

“From the moment that I met her, it’s all I’ve ever wanted. I can be patient. And she will learn to trust me. She will come to understand that I’m not b**********g her like every other lad. In the process, I’m liable to get pricked more than a few times by her shield of thorns. But what’s a little blood for the sake of someone you care about?” ~Rory

Scarlett and Rory’s romance is about earning trust and overcoming demons. It is about redemption, a tragic loss of innocence and gaining everlasting love when one exorcises the ghosts that have haunted them in the past.

Trust me when I say that those ghosts play a tremendous role in the events that occur in Saint. I am willing to bet that as you are reading, you will yearn for schadenfreude just as much as I did.

Ms. Zavarelli said it best in this quote from chapter six:

“Hell is empty and all the devils are here.” ~William Shakespeare, The Tempest Act I, Scene 2

Devils abound in Saint, and when justice comes knocking and the villains pay the price for their sins….

I nearly cracked a tooth from smiling so hard.

At this point I feel like I must provide a trigger warning.  This is a spoiler free review but please realize that this novel is dark. Anyone who has any doubts about reading should probably keep it moving.  Otherwise, dive in because this is one of those novels that should not be missed by anyone who loves to read stories about the triumph of good over evil and the vindication of the human spirit.

Obviously, I could go on and on and *ON* about how much that I loved this book.

Some may say that  Ashleigh Zavarelli is like fine wine, getting better and better with age.  I counter that statement by saying that she is more like scotch, because her potential for growth and flavor is exponential with aging.

Saint is literary art in its finest form!!!!!! This novel is a rare stroke of brilliance that will enslave your emotions and stimulate your soul.

I will never be the same after reading this book.

READ IT…

And that is this Naughty Girl’s final word.

Overall: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

block6
Scarlett-
When going to war, there are three very simple rules one must abide by.
1. Know thy enemy
2. Be prepared to sacrifice.
3. Always wear good shoes

After all, revenge is a dish best served in stilettos.
I’ve got an eye for it, and nothing’s going to stand in my way.

Not even Rory ‘The Saint’ Brodrick.
He’s a fool if he thinks he can change me. By the time I’m through with him, I’ll make his mafia look like child’s play.

Cross me, Mr. Brodrick?
You better cross your heart and hope to die.Rory-

I’m a fighter. A hustler. A mobster.
I’ve seen a few things in my day.
But I’ve never encountered anything like her.
She’s a beauty with a beast of a heart. The poison apple I just can’t resist. And in her trail she leaves a wake of men crawling on their knees.
What she doesn’t know is that I like my women wild.
It only makes it that much more fun to tame them.

**This is a DARK mafia romance. A full-length standalone novel with HEA and no cheating.**

saint-promo-banner

block5

AVAILABLE FOR .99CENTS!
KINDLE US | KINDLE UK | KINDLE AU | KINDLE CA

block1

— BOSTON UNDERWORLD SERIES —
CROW, Book #1: http://amzn.to/2bKGtQZ
REAPER, Book #2: http://amzn.to/2bKHcSg
GHOST, Book #3: http://amzn.to/2boCCK
saint5saint6Beautiful woman in elegant dress with sexy legs posing in luxury interiorsaint8
block3
A. Zavarelli is a romance book junkie, cat lover, and traveler when plagued by intense cases of wanderlust. She likes all things chocolate, books that come with warnings, and pretty much any kind of characters that are dark and gritty. You can find more about her on her website.
giveawayblock

!!!!!!!!!!$20 Amazon Gift Card up for Grabs!!!!!!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

5dcb3-hbtprm2bbanner

4 thoughts on “Review: Saint

Leave a Reply

