Review: The Pawn

The Pawn

by Skye Warren
Publication Date: December 6, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

block2

Skye Warren’s latest novel The Pawn is dark romance at its finest.  I sit here in my reading nook absolutely slayed by this woman because The Pawn just tipped my world on its axis.

This author owns me; I am a huge fan of her work so the moment that The Pawn hit my kindle I put *everything* on hold and immediately dived into this gem. I knew that I would be in for a wildly entertaining ride that would keep me turning the pages until I had consumed the entire book.

I was right, because The Pawn left me stunned and mesmerized by the events that occur in this novel, particularly as the book came to a surprising, unexpected conclusion!!!

Skye Warren blew.me. AWAY with this epic tale of seduction and a true battle of wills that left me emotionally shaken and immensely hooked on this book!!!  This beautiful love story is my new brand of crack and I am hopelessly, shamelessly addicted!!!

 Avery James is the daughter of a highly successful businessman and grows up living a life of wealth and privilege.  Her world comes crumbling down when she loses everything after her father is convicted of fraud and forced to pay millions in restitution to his victims. Faced with the possibility of losing her home, she decides to put her virginity up for auction. The prize is won by Gabriel Miller, a sexy, brooding criminal who pays $1,000,000 for one month to enjoy the “benefits” that come along with his purchase.

This author never fails to amaze me with her brilliant writing.  One of the things that I loved about this novel was the clever way that Ms. Warren incorporated Greek mythology and the tale of the Minotaur into the plot of The Pawn. 

Skye Warren has a way of holding your emotions hostage as you read her work, and that is mostly due to the strength of the characters.  For instance, I *adored* Avery.  She is gorgeous, young and inexperienced but she is strong, courageous and brave.   Her loyalty to her father in spite of his actions tremendously endeared her to me.

And then there is Gabriel Miller.  Damn, damn DAMN this man is sexy.  His innate sex appeal practically jumps from the pages.  He is powerful and wealthy in the extreme, but he also exudes an air of mystique that kept me riveted.  At the same time, there was a vulnerable undertone to his character that made him irresistible to me.  Gabriel Miller can seduce me any day of the week and twice on Sunday!!!! *fans self*

It is important to note that there is a cliffhanger at the end of The Pawn, and my stomach dropped and my heart wept because of it.  I fear that I will expire from wanting the next book, because I want it so bad that it is *killing* me to wait for The Knight!!!!!!!!  However, I am happy to wait, because Avery James may be a pawn in Gabriel Miller’s dark games, but I have a feeling that by the end of the series she will end up becoming a queen. 👑

The Pawn is a true work of art.  It has so many deep, profound layers that it is hard for me to put my awe of this author into words. The games, the secrets…GAH!!!! This book set me on FIYAH and I am eager to continue to feel the burn!!!

READ IT!!!!

I am willing to bet money on the fact that you will LOVE it!!

That is this bookworm’s final word.

Overall: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

block5

 Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

block6

The price of survival…

Gabriel Miller swept into my life like a storm. He tore down my father with cold retribution, leaving him penniless in a hospital bed. I quit my private all-girl’s college to take care of the only family I have left.

There’s one way to save our house, one thing I have left of value.

My virginity.

A forbidden auction…

Gabriel appears at every turn. He seems to take pleasure in watching me fall. Other times he’s the only kindness in a brutal underworld.

Except he’s playing a deeper game than I know. Every move brings us together, every secret rips us apart. And when the final piece is played, only one of us can be left standing.

THE PAWN is a full-length contemporary novel from New York Times bestselling author Skye Warren about revenge and seduction in the game of love.

block3

Skye Warren is the New York Times bestselling author of dark romance such as Wanderlust and Prisoner. Praised as a “true mistress of dark erotica”, her books have been featured in Jezebel, Buzzfeed, USA Today Happily Ever After, Glamour, and Elle Magazine. She makes her home in Texas with her loving family, four dogs, and one evil cat.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube | Pinterest | Instagram

giveawayblock

!!!!Enter to win a Signed Paperback copy of The Pawn!!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

