Review: Scarred By You

 

 

block2

 

Laura Carter’s Scarred By You is one of those unforgettable novels that blaze a path straight to your heart while searing you all the way down to your core.

Let the record show that I am an angst fiend.

I love it.

Crave it and revel in it.

I guess that is why Scarred By You took me by storm.   I felt like my emotions were a tiny boat  being tossed and turned left and right among waves of deceit, heartache and pain.

This book slayed me.

The characters moved me so deeply that I have a hard time putting it into words.   I suppose that is because I felt tremors of my own experiences with heartbreak and sadness as I read about these two characters and the depth of their emotional torment.

I can not describe how truly, madly and deeply that I fell in love with this book. ❤️

Clark Layton and Dayna Cross are CEOs of rival oil companies.  More importantly, they are former lovers who still carry a tendre for each other in spite of the horrendous way that their relationship ended.

Consider these heart-rending words from the heroine:

“The man I fell in love with four years ago. The man who tore my heart to shreds, not one time but two. The man who manages to break another piece of me, no matter how small, every time I hear his name.” ~Dayna

Oh dear.

Those words broke me because  Dayna is powerful and fearless.  She is a cunning, clever businesswoman taking charge in an industry dominated by men.  Dayna is truly a force to be reconned with…and the only one who has the power to break her is the man that she loves.

And Clark.  He is everything the hero should be.  Handsome, ambitious, protective. Above all else, he is unapologetically determined to reclaim the woman that he foolishly let go.

scarred3

 

These two are so passionate.

The intensity between them is staggering and that is only part of what makes this novel so meaningful and impressive.

Laura Carter’s descriptive writing style and potent ability to capture the emotions of her characters with just a few words left me thrilled and shaken.

And let’s not even talk about the revelations that I was not prepared to read…the unpredictable, electrifying events that had me slack-jawed and dumbfounded.

Let me break it down in a few simple words:

Scarred By You has elevated the entire genre of second-chance romance.

This is my first experience with Laura Carter’s work but it certainly will not be the last.

I highly recommend this intensely romantic story of a love that was lost and eventually rediscovered.

Read it!

That is my final word.

Overall: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ + 1/2 ⭐️s

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥

block6

 

Their past will become their future. Their scars will be reopened.

Clark Layton has the world at his feet. He is the CEO of one of the largest oil companies in the world and he has a fiancée most men would kill for. Then why, the night before his wedding, is he still thinking about everything he lost when he walked out on Dayna Cross?

Dayna didn’t intend to take the helm of Subsea Petroleum. But events beyond her control left her no choice. And she can handle it, mostly. She can juggle the long hours, the chauvinistic men, and a broken heart. What she can’t deal with is Clark Layton swanning back into her life and threatening to break down her walls.

They are rival CEOs and they are in a dogfight for a lucrative new pipeline. But as truths of their past begin to surface, business won’t be the biggest battle they enter into.

 

scarred2

block5

 

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
Amazon AU

 

Goodreads: 

Leave a Reply

