Review: A Place in the Sun

Title: A Place in the Sun

Author: R.S. Grey

Release Date: Oct 24, 2016

Goodreads

block2

Normally, romantic comedies are not my thing.

Call me crazy, but I am a drama queen.  If there is not much angst intertwined with the romance then I typically lose interest quickly.

I am happy to say that a new day has dawned.  R.S. Grey’s latest release A Place in the Sun inspired a new level of fascination with all things associated with romantic comedy!

It is no secret that R.S . Grey is a fabulous writer.  In fact, she has owned me since I read the first book in her Summer Games series.   Her elegant writing style and unique ability to completely immerse her readers into the heart, mind and soul of her characters attracted me to her writing.  However, it is her utter way with words and immeasurable talent that truly captured my heart.

A Place in the Sun is the story of Georgie and Gianluca.

It is the story of two polar opposites who are undeniably attracted to each other in spite of the emotional baggage that both of them carry.   Georgie flees her overbearing mother and absconds to Vernazza, Italy in a quest to find herself and perhaps even true love in the process.  There she meets Gianluca, an abrupt, broody man recovering from his own form of heartbreak.

I loved Georgie’s zest for life.  She is beautiful, bold and passionate.  Her sense of humor was an added plus that makes this novel well-worth worth reading.

And Gianluca.  Lawd!  😍😍 He is handsome as sin, loyal to a fault and delivers the kind of passion that Georgie had previously only dreamed of. Hell, he had me wanting to book a one-way trip to Italy and never come back! ☺️

This friends to lovers romance is so sweet and refreshing.  It is the perfect book to read as you enjoy a relaxing glass of wine. The author’s description of the sights, sounds and smells of the Italian countryside made me want to run off to Italy and enjoy the picturesque scenery, take a swim in the cerulean waters of Italy’s beaches and gorge myself on tasty Italian food. Especially the Gelatto!!!

This novel is a slow burn that consumed me at the same time that laugh-out loud moments of hilarity entertained me.  It is witty and clever.   It is also incredibly moving and deeply satisfying to watch Georgie relentlessly pursue Gianluca and break down the walls that he has carefully erected around his heart.   The course of true love is never easy, and R.S. Grey showcases the fact that love involves hard-work, dedication and perseverance.

A Place in the Sun certainly earned a special place in my heart. I cannot wait to see what R.S. Grey has in store for us next.

Overall: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ + 1/2 ⭐️S

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

block6

When her mother’s incessant matchmaking hits an all-time high, Georgie Archibald does what any sensible woman would do: she flees the country.

Seeking refuge in the picturesque seaside village of Vernazza, Italy, Georgie’s only plan is to lie low, gorge herself on gelato, and let the wine and waves wash her troubles away…that is until she wakes up in a bed that belongs to the most romantic-looking man she’s ever seen.

Gianluca.

After going out of his way to rescue her, the former London financier turned mysterious recluse makes it clear that despite acting as her white knight, he has no plans to co-star in her fairytale.

But Georgie isn’t asking for his heart—she’s merely intrigued.

After all, Gianluca isn’t just gorgeous—tall and tan from days spent in the sun—his touch sets her world on fire. With him, Georgie experiences the most intoxicating passion she’s ever known, and it only takes a few steamy nights for her to realize that sometimes running away from trouble is the best way to find it.

block3

I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things… everyday.

I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors are Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things “funny”. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.

   
Leave a Reply

