Review: Blended

 

I knew that Sasha Brümmer’s Blended was going to rock me to my core simply from reading the author’s notes at the beginning of the novel.

I am not kidding.

Something told me to prepare myself for some seriously deep subject matter.

The kind of content that can shatter, emotionally obliterate and blaze an unforgettable path of grief and distress that makes a book noteworthy and exceptional.

Mark my words:

Blended is extraordinary.

Meaningful.

Legendary.

I just finished reading the last line of Blended and I have tears right now. ☹️😪😪

No joke.

I sit here in awe of Sasha Brümmer because what she has accomplished with this novel is truly remarkable. I have read so many books this year, but few have had the emotional impact on my heart and soul that Blended has managed to create due to the deep feelings it has inspired within me.

Now I am going to keep it 100.

Straight up real talk.

When I first started Blended I was not sure that I would finish it. 😱

The heroine, Hadley seemed so broken and jaded that I could not wrap my mind around it.

She engages in the kind of sex therapy that is meant to purge deep-seeded emotional poison from the body, mind and spirit but ultimately results in psychological damage in spite of its intent.

I wondered “WTF happened to this girl to create this type of warped thinking?” 🤔

Here are a few examples of what I am referring to. Please take a moment to absorb these morsels of Hadley’s philosophy on life, love and sex.

“From what I’ve heard and read, love is supposed to somehow enlighten those who have been in the dark, providing them with strength when they are weak and mending their previously bruised and bound hearts. It’s all bullshit. Love has denied me. Love has neglected me.”

“I detest the notion of love and all of the sticky residual emotions that go along with it. There are more things in life than a heavy heart and an overbearing ache-there’s fucking.”

“Sex is supposed to be this overstimulation of intense, swelling passion, an extension of that dirty L word-love. Sex to me has just been, well sex–waves of corrupt orgasms and glistening cocks. Shove it in, pull it out, and repeat the process in hopes of some relief-filled orgasm that won’t ever satisfy me long enough.”

This one right here had me straight up shaking my head:

“I hide in sex, lust and any man who will make time for me. I keep my past to myself because in reality, nobody actually gives a fuck.”

Folks, that is just from the first few chapters. 😳

Then there is Wade.

The man who catalyzes an emotional response in Hadley that causes the type of breathtaking, show-stopping love and passion that moves mountains and tips the world on its axis.

Typically  I would launch into a spiel about how gorgeous, wealthy, arrogant, and alpha Wade is.  How he is dominant and talented  in bed, ridiculously sexy, possessive, intelligent and swoon-worthy.

YES.

Wade is all that those adjectives imply. He is the essence of the word “hero.” I fell a little bit in love with him myself. 🤗

But that is not what truly matters here.

It is  the fact that Sasha Brümmer has created a character that comes full circle.  At first Hadley comes across as tainted. So nonredeemable that it is mind boggling to read.

This is a woman that you will love but can not help but hate.

What makes Blended so special is that she is vindicated in the end. Hadley experiences the sort of emotional growth that is epic.

Memorable.

The kind of transition in thought and action that will make your heart sing.

The tag line for Blended is that it is a “redemption novel” and that phrase hits the nail right on the fucking head.

I laughed and cried so hard while reading this book. It will forever resonate with me because of how deeply it made me feel and the way in which it made me think about the intricacies of love and sex.

Blended is special to me.

That is why I continue to cry over the characters and the beautiful manner in which Sasha Brümmer portrays them.

It is one of those novels that I will read again and again.

It is that damn good.

I received an ARC of this book and trust me when I say that Blended is worth every penny that you will pay for it.

READ IT.

And that’s my final word.

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

Overall: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Release Date: September 19, 2016

Synopsis

Clichéd sentiments of love are not my thing. Instead, I give into raw temptation and thrive on the physical aspects of what men have to offer. Unemotional, carnal connections are what I live for, and they seem to keep me in a blissfully naïve state.

I’ve gone years with a different man in a different bed each night, but one glance from a ruminating stranger as he lifts my panties to his nose narrows my attraction from multiple men to only one.

I’m not entirely sure how to process the thoughts and passions battling in my mind until he gives me no other choice…until I’m thrust into an unstable emotional high that I cannot seem to resist.

His objective is to break me in and savor me as if I’m his favorite bottle of single malt whiskey.

I’m well aware of my sensual dependencies.

He’s unaware that his still exist.

Goodreads:

The http://bit.ly/2bgT6AZ

!!!!!!!Giveaway!!!!!!!

Signed paperback of Blended!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0cba4250316/?

About the Author:

A self-published author by night and all around busybody by day, Sasha is an international baby, born in gorgeous South Africa. Her cultured lifestyle is one that many don’t get to experience. When she’s not preoccupied with reading romance novels, she’s hashing out new ways to translate a titillating and libidinous scene onto a page.

Connect with Sasha:

Newsletter signup: http://eepurl.com/bY64kL

Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2bws7lP

Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2blJvNC

Twitter: http://bit.ly/2bcG0GY

Instagram: http://bit.ly/2bF1akc

 

 

cropped-SSFprLogo3.png

Leave a Reply

