Review: Everything Stolen

“Love is patient and kind, Love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.” –Sylvie

I just finished Everything Stolen, Sophia Scarlet’s thought-provoking, suspenseful new release that literally left me stunned speechless.

Everything Stolen is a romance shrouded in mystery.

It is a story depicting the harsh realities that a couple face when the life that they planned together is ruined by tragic, unforeseen events that result from betrayal, secrets and lies.

Jeremy Bradford wakes up from a four-year coma with the name of his love, Sylvie on his lips.

Sylvie is his muse, the Venus to his Mars and everything that using the names of those two legendary Roman Gods implies.

In short, she is his everything.

Jeremy has been missing, presumed dead by family and friends. When he wakes from the coma for the first time he immediately desires to pick up his life where he left off before everything went to hell.

Sylvie’s name is his first cognizant thought when he opens his eyes but what he fails to realize is that it has been four years, not mere days since he last emotionally and physically connected with his love.

On the other side of the spectrum, Sylvie Solum was devastated by Jeremy’s disappearance; she was emotionally crippled by the loss of a love that she thought was everlasting. Abandoned as a child by her biological parents, she fears that she has also been intentionally left behind by the man whose love that she held so dear…the same man who also fathered her unborn child.

Two years later she legally weds another man.   She is now Sylvie Chambers, a married woman who has started a new life with a husband that she strives to give 100% of herself to all day every day.  Sylvie is a mother, a lover and a friend.  She attempts to move on with her life after Jeremy vanishes, never expecting to look at her long lost love in the eye again.

When he shows up out of the blue on her door step, physically and psychologically debilitated after waking up from a coma after four years he is no less emotionally fortified and resilient.

Jeremy is determined to reconnect with the love of his life, everything else be damned.

What follows is a true roller coaster of a ride.

One that has left me shaken.

To be honest I have literally been up all night pondering the themes in this haunting, brilliantly composed story of agonizing first love and startling sudden loss.

It has been a few hours since I finished the epilogue but I am still having a hard time encapsulating my thoughts as I try to process the myriad of emotions that I experienced as I devoured this fascinating novel.

It is impossible for me to formulate this review without discussing the depth of what I felt as I both delighted in and gobbled up Jeremy and Sylvie’s story.

Allow me to list these emotions so that the breadth of my experience is obvious.

I was heartbroken.

Disgusted.

Full of anger and incredulity.

Confused.

Emotionally bereft.

Hopeful.

Vindicated, yet wondering if the emotional wringer that I went through while reading this book was worth it in the end?

At many points I was so outraged with Sylvie l that I wished she was standing in front of me so that I scream “How dare you?!” before slapping her down to the ground.

tyrion_slaps_joffrey

YES, I am serious.

I wish that I could elaborate further but this is a spoiler free review.

All I can say is that the mystery that is at the core of the plot of this novel is the foundation for everything that will make you remember Sophie Scarlet’s Everything Stolen for a very long time.

I will not highlight the revelations that are exposed but as the truth is laid bare and we discover what truly happened to Jeremy, who was responsible and why it happened…

I am literally shaking with fury simply thinking about it.

Quite frankly Everything Stolen is art.

A true literary triumph that beguiles and mesmerizes the reader.

This novel took me on a tremulous, surprising road to discovery where long-dead truths come to light and a long-lost love that was previously thought misplaced is rediscovered.

It is this very journey that makes this novel so beautifully composed in its elegance.

Some of the events of this book will make you cringe as you are reading.

Undoubtedly, Everything Stolen will hit you right smack in your heart.

In spite of the crazy ride that made me laugh and cry I do not regret traveling the road that brought me to the point where I was finally emotionally and mentally prepared to put my thoughts down in this review for the world to see.

I received an ARC for my honest opinion of this book so allow me to break it down:

You may adore Everything Stolen because it represents a celebration of good over evil and the infinite, soul-stirring power of love.

But you may hate it because of how deeply and profoundly that you are affected by the loss that Sylvie and Jeremy experience.

That is why this book earns 4.5 stars.

I am in awe of Ms. Scarlet’s talent and story-telling ability.

Right now I can’t help but ponder Sylvie’s words in the very quote that I mentioned at that start of this review.

“{Love} does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.”

Can you handle the truth? If you can confidently answer “yes!” to this question then READ THIS BOOK.

That is my final word.

~RS

Heat: 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Overall: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ + 1/2 ⭐️s

Amazon US ~ http://amzn.to/2clfWu1

 !!!!!!!GIVEAWAY for a SIGNED paperback of Everything Stolen!!!!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author:

Sophia Scarlet is a Maryland native. She lives with her husband, two children, and cat in the woods not far from the Potomac river. When she is not writing or shuttling her children around, you can find her practicing yoga, cooking, or picking seasonal vegetables at the local CSA.

 

Connect with Sophia:

Newsletter Signup: http://bit.ly/2c8owJD

Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2bU9KLa

Facebook Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2bbHRxX

Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2ckx5oD

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2c7zMXl

 

cropped-SSFprLogo3.png

Leave a Reply

